Neurology Oral Boards

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nycdoc22

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
A few questions about the adult neuro orals coming up..:

On the patient encounter - what kind of neuro exam should be done ... ie a focused one (including fundoscopy) or "complete". ie. should i be checking webber and rinne on everyone? Should i be prepared to test CN I, taste, etc.

Also how complete should the fundoscopy be? I am comfortable looking at the disc, but i'm no expert at assessing all the vessel abnormalities, etc.

Some where i read that we should use 'sterile safety pins'. Short of lighting a match over one, i have no clue how to get those.

Also do we do a general physical exam? Vitals? look for skin lesions (in adults..peds - definately).

ON the history portion: how much of a medical history do we need (beyond whats clearly relavent? (do i have to review all 18 systems, etc. )

After the H & P - do we discuss the case with the patient. (ie, do we counsel them, etc...)

thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

A few questions about the adult neuro orals coming up..:

On the patient encounter - what kind of neuro exam should be done ... ie a focused one (including fundoscopy) or "complete". ie. should i be checking webber and rinne on everyone? Should i be prepared to test CN I, taste, etc.

Also how complete should the fundoscopy be? I am comfortable looking at the disc, but i'm no expert at assessing all the vessel abnormalities, etc.

Some where i read that we should use 'sterile safety pins'. Short of lighting a match over one, i have no clue how to get those.

Also do we do a general physical exam? Vitals? look for skin lesions (in adults..peds - definately).

ON the history portion: how much of a medical history do we need (beyond whats clearly relavent? (do i have to review all 18 systems, etc. )