New college retake core premed classes (post undergrad)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Okhadwork

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I graduated with two undergrad engineering degrees from a nationally ranked university with a gpa of about 3.1. My premed classes (orgos, bios, chems) i did not do so good. If i go to a university near me that isnt as well regarded but is still a university and major in something easier like psychology or sociology and just retake all the premed classes and get a 3.9 or 4.0 what do you think MD schools would think of that especially if i got all A's in the science core classes?

Members don't see this ad.

getting all As in re-take is good. The problem for you is your not-so-competitive GPA, and that its heavily weighted after taking the 220 quarter units for a bachelors.

You should attempt some other science classes that would help bosst your GPA, or show excellent academic accomplishment.

Thanks for the info alexrgross but if i go to a new university wouldnt my GPA reset. Id start with a clean slate, i would ony transfer credits that i got A's in and then do whats left it would onlt take a year or two to get the degree and i could take my time with it and focus on the sciences. I guess what im saying is im not familiar with the MD admissions process. Could i just send my transcript from the new university and leave out my old university GPA and degrees?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the info alexrgross but if i go to a new university wouldnt my GPA reset. Id start with a clean slate, i would ony transfer credits that i got A's in and then do whats left it would onlt take a year or two to get the degree and i could take my time with it and focus on the sciences. I guess what im saying is im not familiar with the MD admissions process. Could i just send my transcript from the new university and leave out my old university GPA and degrees?