New Exam Krackers + Old Kaplan?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sylvestrie

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello need some advice, Its been a long while since I finished my second degree to complete my pre-med course work (I am a career changer & older pre-med). I took the MCAT back in 2011 with a Kaplan in-person course. Didn't get into med school, have been working & publishing in research since so now I am an even older pre-med and no amount of classes will change my crappy GPA so I really need to do well on the MCAT.

I was going to get the NEW kaplan and a NEW exam krackers when I realized I still have all my old Kaplan texts from when I took the MCAT in 2011. What I have heard is that Kaplan is better in the content while EK is better at improving test skills.

My thought was that instead of spending the extra $ on getting the new kaplan texts, I could get EK, the AAMC study pack and supplement with my pre-2015 Kaplan subject texts following the AAMC content list.

Would you still get the new texts or do you think that would be sufficient?
(I am only buying 2, so please don't say to get all 3)

Members don't see this ad.

Thank you for your reply @MCATKINGS. Part of the reason I looked for new books was because of the additional online tools that are often only available with new copies of the books. If the online tools included with the new versions of the texts are not important then I will look into getting them used but 4 book sets seems like a lot. TPR and BR don't usually get listed at the top for MCAT prep so I narrowed it down to Kaplan & EK.