New Grad Salary and Contract

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mother-of-cats

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I was just offered a job at a GP clinic in Tampa, Florida and was hoping to get some advice on what I should be expecting for salary as a new grad, I know that the salary has increased over the last few years but unsure of exact numbers. Also if there is anything that I should be negotiating into my contract.

Members don't see this ad.

Considering Tampa is a large city base should probably be 150kish+(whatever percentage if you're base+production). Don't sign or sign minimal noncompetes. Licenses, avma, state vma are pretty standard. +/-health and retirement benefits. Pto and ce. If you look at similar offers in the area it'd be helpful to establish expectations. Your total package should equal ~25% of what you expect to produce

Id guess base around 120k and production around 22%. Couple of thoughts:

1) be aware that having a higher salary now is no guarantee of one later. You need to produce enough to pay for yourself. I've started seeing Facebook and VIN posts about recent grads starting at higher salaries of the 150k range and then not being able to produce enough to cover that, so salaries get reduced the following year.

2) likewise, I had no issue producing starting my second fiscal quarter, but got screwed with a contract that paid out production yearly. Ask how much the hospital is making, what the schedule looks like (are they booked out for weeks?), and what their expectations are for you. If they're booked out for weeks and plan on starting your surgical mentorship soon into your time there, request production pay outs start sooner rather than later. This especially applies if you don't have negative accrual. You very well could start producing sooner.

3) production pay out no less frequently than quarterly.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)