New grads - How difficult was it to find a position?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ForgotUserName

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a relative that is interested in applying to either pharmacy school or dental hygiene. I have perused some of the pharmacy threads and it seems like the opportunities in the field have been in a lull. Is the outlook more optimistic several years down the road?

For those that just graduated and able to land a position - how long did it take and was it difficult to find a position?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Choose something else.

Reactions: 8 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I graduated in 2016, took me 7 months and 3 state licenses before landing a job in retail. I'd imagine it has only gotten worse.

Reactions: 4 users
2008: should I pursue MD or PharmD?

2013: BSN or PharmD?

2018: Dental hygiene or pharmacy?

2025: PharmD vs. ????

Reactions: 8 users
A friend who graduated from my alma mater in 2018 said ~10% of his class had jobs lined up afterwards, and another ~10% got a residency. Anecdotal, but still doesn't bode well. I've seen quite a few FB posts from this class speaking about their lack of job prospects and feeling unwanted. Pharmacy is in a very bad spot right now and will continue to decline I think. I wouldn't recommend any friends or family to go to pharmacy school.

Reactions: 5 users

I'll take massage therapist for $500

Reactions: 5 users
I have a relative that is interested in applying to either pharmacy school or dental hygiene. I have perused some of the pharmacy threads and it seems like the opportunities in the field have been in a lull. Is the outlook more optimistic several years down the road?

For those that just graduated and able to land a position - how long did it take and was it difficult to find a position?

Thanks in advance.
"Is the outlook more optimistic several years down the road?"