New member with questions, please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NJdcjr22

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone-
After reading a bunch of posts on here, I became a member and I'm hoping someone can help me out. I'm a recent graduate with a degree in Economics. I work at an acocounting firm and hate it and know this is not what I plan on doing for my life. I want to be a doctor, always have, but because I was a college athlete, athletics was what I focused on in college and taking science classes was simply not feasible for me.

Here comes the bulk of the story. If anyone can take the time to read it and help men it I would really appreciate it. My cumulative GPA in college was a 3.2. That 3.2 is with multiple F's on my transcript. One F is from freshman year when I was just messing around and the others happened right before I graduated. I had a situation where I had a stress fracture in my spine, ACL reconstruction, rotator cuff repair, and then nerve pain in my right arm after the surgery that was worse pain then all other surgeries combined. All of these issues were in a 2 year span. I was a mess as my dreams of becoming a professional athlete were shattered. I knew I wanted to become a doctors then but I was close enough to my degree that I finished. I enrolled in some of the science classes but withdrew a lot because I was very depressed from the circumstances. I did manage to keep a GPA above 3.0 for my cumulative which I hope will be still be ok.

As of now I am enrolled in General Physics and General Bio 1 at the local state college while working. I plan to make A's. I know the basic prerequisites for med school. I found out about post bacc programs after I started these classes.

That leaves me with these questions:
1) For applying should I take more courses then the basic physics, bio, chem, and organic chem to make my application stronger?