new nontrad premed student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

priorcorpsman

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

I've been lurking these forms for a while now and I've really enjoyed reading everyone's advice and it's really helped me get an overall picture of what I need to do to increase my chances for med school. However, I'd still like to get everyone's opinion on my current status to see if I'm on the right track or if I need to make some changes before I get too far along.

I graduated with a BS in Computer Science and I've been working as a Software Developer for about 5-6 years now. I began at a community college with a 3.51 GPA. I later transferred to a 4 year university and graduated with a disappointing 2.83 GPA. If I calculated everything correctly, my total undergraduate GPA is about 3.23.

Because of my Computer Science major, I haven't taken any natural science classes so I do have a chance to bring it up. If I manage to get all As in my pre-requisites, I should be able to get my GPA up to 3.39. It's still a little disappointing based on what I've read here so far, but it's a start.

I realize that allopathic schools average class re-takes and it seems that if I'm not satisfied with a 3.39, it seems that re-taking some of my past Cs for an A to get a B average might be an option. Still, many of my Cs at the four year university are Computer Science courses and it feels a little silly having to go through those classes again to increase my chances for med school. Retaking my math classes are out of the question since I made decent grades in all of them. (A - Pre-calculus, A - Calculus I, A - Calculus II, B - Linear Algebra). My only physics is a non-engineering physics with a B and an engineering physics with a C (non-engineering didn't transfer to 4 year school).