New Pre-Optometry Student - Please Help!!

ash118

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

I am new to this forum but I have heard a lot about this site and I am really excited to get your advice and opinons.

I graduated undergrad in May 2010 on a pre-med track. After a year off, I have had some time to think about my career track and I have been giving optometry a serious thought. This year I had a lot of trouble with my eyes after recovering from severe conjuctivitis (I recently found out I have amblyoepia along with astigmatism) and this experience helped me realize the importance of optometry.

Unfortunately, as I have always been premed, I was hoping to get help on what I need to do be on a pre-optometry track. My cGPA is 3.75 and sGPA is about 3.5. I have a lot of community service and shadowing experience with allopathic doctors, but I have not shadowed an optometrist yet. I have LORs from science professor, public health program director, research mentor, and a science TA.

I am currently residing in Arkansas (although I am from MD). What advice / tips would you give me?

How do I start shadowing an optometrist? Is a LOR from an optometrist necessary/important? What is the best way to study for the OATs and how do I get the best study material?

I have taken MCAT in the past - does this make a difference?

Please help! Thank you in advance and I look forward to your responses!!

Members don't see this ad.