New - Seeking Advice, Please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psc2Md

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all - I'm new to these forums, but am seeking your general input... I've been lurking for a while, never posted. I'll explain my story a bit, and then post my questions.

I've decided to pursue a career in medicine, and have a BA in Political Science. I graduated with a 3.9, summa cum laude, honors, and held several leadership positions, even started a successful club. My resume looks great, and I have tons of comm. service + 3 months in the ER (which I plan on continuing... I also have plans to begin shadowing soon).

I only need pre reqs...Thus, postbacc is the answer for me. I applied to several prestigious programs and was accepted (! was very happy about this); however, I've decided to complete the pre-reqs at my state university in order to save money and live at home + other practical reasons. This is the same University from which I graduated, so I don't forsee ADCOMs questioning "Why the state university?" It has a solid pre-med postbacc program with a high success rate... and lets face it, it's my home University, and I'm confortable with the environment and the student life on campus. Plus, not having to re-locate is a plus right now as I'm already financially strapped.

1) Will this be seen as an "easy way out" even though it is my home University? opinions?