New to Dental World

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kingovkeyz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I would appreciate any advice for my situation. (deep breath) here it goes.

I am a music major graduating in the spring of '09. I have recently decided to pursue a career in dentistry. I know that I need to complete lots of prereqs. My question is this: do I need to wait until I complete all of my prereqs before I apply to schools? Assuming I get a satisfactory score on the DAT, I will have about half of my prereqs completed by application deadlines for the next cycle. Should I even bother, or just wait until I finish?
I would have to put a lot of things together to have applications together by the upcoming spring. I'm studying like crazy for the DAT right now. Obviously completing the prereqs will only help my DAT score I'm sure, but if I can pull a good score, should I apply? (I would have the courses completed by spring '10, D school starts fall '10.)
I really want to go to Oklahoma. I live there and my undergrad is at OU, and I love OU. I would for sure apply there, how many schools should I apply to?
I realize that I may have to apply more than one cycle, but I feel very strongly about the profession, and I don't mind. But I also want to make good decisions concerning application, and nail it once :)

GPA 3.3, SCI 3.7, no DAT yet.

Any suggestions are welcomed, the good, the bad, and the ugly. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I forgot to mention that I will have the prereqs finished before entering D school.

Hello everyone. I would appreciate any advice for my situation. (deep breath) here it goes.