New Zealand pharmacist wanting to work in USA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jsdhaliwal68`

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am a NZ registered pharmacist, and was wondering if there is any pathway for our degree to be used to practise here? A friend of mine a few years back moved here and said he was not able to use his degree but just wanted a second opinion. I have been looking at the NABP page in detail but there isn't anything specific about which countries degrees they would consider. Our degree is a Bachelor of Pharmacy and is 4 years.
Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome,
as I am an immigrant too, let me chime in:

International pharmacists may obtain a license to practice pharmacy in the U.S. through one of two ways:

1. Taking the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Examination® (FPGEC) and completing the requirements of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy.
  2. Successfully completing a Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) program at a school or college of pharmacy in the U.S.
Now, could anyone just immigrate and work here, that's a NO. As you are aware, our Pharm.D. degree is not equivalent to your 4-year BS degree.
Then, there are certain allowances made for Canadian Pharmacist and the states bordering Canada (don't know what!)
NABP is a bear to deal with! Even license transfer among states is difficult, took me a good 8 months, an exam and $1000 in fees! To reciprocate between 2 states.

Your friend is absolutely correct on this matter. Then there are the Visa requirements, a whole other topic, also discussed in this forum. I too know of many people with BS in pharmacy, or even MS, or Ph.D. from overseas, working as pharmacy techs. Now there are many acceptable BS degrees from other countries, but no R.Ph. access.