Newbie needs help! Applying with an Engineering Degree!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mtabibian

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I just registered today! I found the forums very helpful. !I have some questions. What are my chances?

I got my BS in Electrical Engineering (Telecomm.) in Iran. Then I moved to US for my master's. I earned my Masters in Electrical Engineering/Systems from USC. Now I am working in a telecommunications company in DC Area as a team lead software developer. Recently I have become interested in changing my career and becoming a dentist :D! (Both my parents are dentists. so I think why shouldn't I be :p)

Anyway, I have taken BIO 101 and BIO 102 for this summer in a college in my area (Northern Virginia Comm College).

Here are my questions:
1- Has anyone here applied for dentistry from a similar educational background. (Eng/Comp Sci)? If yes what are your advises?
2- Is there any chance for me to be accepted for Fall 05? :D
3- I learned that I have to pass at least 8 crd of Bio, 8 crds of Chem and 8 crds of Org Chem. I think i might be able to pull em off by next year this time. (taking BIOs this summer, Chems in Fall, and Org Chems in Spring!)
Is this over ambitious?

IN THE END, HELP I AM TOTALLY CONFUSED!

Members don't see this ad.

I have a similar background as you and I am applying this cycle. I started my prereqs last spring and just finished last semester. You also have to take two semesters of physics - you may have already completed this with your engineering degree. I think the chances of finishing all of those classes in one year are slim but it might be possible.