Nicu

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kajNCgirl

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am a medical student beginning to think about specialties. I have always been attracted to pediatrics, but I really like using my hands to fix things. I have spent a little time in the NICU and I have really liked it. I was wondering if someone could tell me a little about about neonatology and the types of procedures they do. In addition, any information about how competitive the fellowship/lifestyle factors/salary/etc would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

kajNCgirl said:
Hi,
I am a medical student beginning to think about specialties. I have always been attracted to pediatrics, but I really like using my hands to fix things. I have spent a little time in the NICU and I have really liked it. I was wondering if someone could tell me a little about about neonatology and the types of procedures they do. In addition, any information about how competitive the fellowship/lifestyle factors/salary/etc would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

http://www.neonatology.org/career/default.html

Is a good place to start. We've talked about it a bit here over the last couple of years so a search of this site will help. Best thing to do is to sit down with one of the neonatologists there and talk with them.

Our most common "procedures" are intubations, umbilical catheter placements and occasional chest tubes. Peripheral arterial lines in tiny babies are a challenge for us often as well.

Fellowships are not terribly competitive to obtain, although, as in every field, it depends on where you want to go - they are most competitive at the largest children's hospitals. Job prospects post-fellowship are abundant in both private and academic practice.