• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

NIH LRP Change of Institution & Project

emotionpsychgrad

2+ Year Member
Nov 30, 2016
  1. Psychology Student
Wondered if anyone has any experience with making a change of institution and research project on an LRP.

At the moment, I am on an LRP award. I'm currently a postdoc and been offered a job at a non-profit research institute, working 100% of my time on a SAMHSA funded grant. I called to ask if this would not be a breach of contract, to which they replied that I needed to accept the job first to fill out the change of institution information.

I told them that I would not accept the position unless I know it would be OK, as I can't afford the $7500 penalty PER MONTH you are breaching the contract. They pushed back and said I needed to accept a new job before anything can be processed.....

Anyone have any experience with this or suggestions? I am trying to understand what situations they would institute the massive fines, but am not getting any help. Does anyone know the situation in which the institute these policies? To date, I can only find people who just had their contracts closed out (which I would be fine with).

I would imagine people change institutions and research all the time--as this is often the nature of the business, but I really don't want to incur major fines.

Li34Ark

May 16, 2020
  1. Psychologist