No activities in past yr

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whateva07

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated last yr and Ive been working full time, and I have no healthcare activities to add to my amcas....will that loook bad???

Members don't see this ad.

Similar case for me, however, I did continue volunteering at a hospital, and work with the army as medic part time. But full time, I have been working elsewhere not medicine related, but very tangentially health care related. Does that go against me. I have something to show for my time though, 'cause I made close to 90K in the past year :). However, I have pretty much ended all the stuff that I was doing on campus ever since I finished my undergrad.

Is that a bad thing?

Piyush

I don't think it would be the worst thing in the world, unless you're a re-applicant. In your personal statement or in an interview you can always spin your work outside the medical field as catalyst for solidifying your resolve to pursue medicine (or whatever).

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't think it would be the worst thing in the world, unless you're a re-applicant. In your personal statement or in an interview you can always spin your work outside the medical field as catalyst for solidifying your resolve to pursue medicine (or whatever).

I am a re-applicant, but didnt get in bc of mcat score...and my job is not health care related at all.

I am a re-applicant, but didnt get in bc of mcat score...and my job is not health care related at all.

Well, from what I understand of the re-applicant stigma (since I have that myself) is that you need to improve your application on multiple fronts the second time around. It could be a bad thing there's no new medical related activities if that was something you were deficient in last cycle. But if you've raised your MCAT and/or GPA, then I bet it would be less of a deal.