No pharmacy experience, what should I do now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bubblewrap

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I've been thinking about something and I need your advice. I am going to be a P2 student this coming fall, but I didn't get an internship this summer and I have no previous experience work experience in pharmacy.

I've been told that its really bad to continue my pharmacy education without having any experience and that I should have gotten an internship. I've also been told that I'm really behind without having any.

I've been thinking about working during my P2 year, but I would be in school, so I asked around to see how many hours I can put in. Someone told me that if they wanted to work then they would do 10-15 hours/week, but they told me it will still be really hard to juggle school work and pharmacy work. One of my friends told me that they would recommend working once a month and pick up more hours when I feel comfortable. That sounded like a good idea, however, even though I have an intern status, I still have no experience in pharmacy and I don't think anybody would hire someone like that.

I know the contact info for the intern coordinator for the company I want to work with, but I haven't contacted her yet because my pharmacy school is not located in my hometown or anywhere near my hometown. I would be heading home during the winter and summer breaks, thus I won't be able to work during my breaks.

I wanted to avoid this headache and get some advice first.

Members don't see this ad.

I've been told that its really bad to continue my pharmacy education without having any experience and that I should have gotten an internship. I've also been told that I'm really behind without having any.