no research experience = bad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Longcatislong

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How important do you guys believe research experience is to dental school applicants? I am a post-bacc student doing my prereqs. I majored in sociology, so as an undergrad I never really did any biological science research. And I doubt that as a post-bacc I'll be able to find any meaningful research opps any time soon.

So long as I have good grades, DAT and some dental shadowing experience will I be a competitive applicant?

Members don't see this ad.

dental schools, especially the upper-tier ones, love kids that do research.

i think if you just want to get an acceptance, good numbers + shadowing + some ECs + a solid interview can get you into lots of places. if you want to get an acceptance from a top-tier dental school without research experience, that's doable too, but you need to have some stellar things in your app.

what type of school are you aiming for?

How much research is considered "enough" research? By the time I apply I will only have ~9 months of cancer research experience.

Members don't see this ad :)
dental schools, especially the upper-tier ones, love kids that do research.

i think if you just want to get an acceptance, good numbers + shadowing + some ECs + a solid interview can get you into lots of places. if you want to get an acceptance from a top-tier dental school without research experience, that's doable too, but you need to have some stellar things in your app.

what type of school are you aiming for?

there are no rankings for d-schools, so whats considered "top tier" you mean ivy leagues that are good for specializing, but terrible for clinic?

How much research is considered "enough" research? By the time I apply I will only have ~9 months of cancer research experience.