PhD/PsyD Non-clinical jobs in VA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychchick09

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Needing some ideas about possible future job options! I’m currently a program manager for a SUD program at the VA and due to various life changes, I’m feeling a need to move away from doing so much clinical work. With that said, the position I’m in now is what I’d been working toward for most of grad school/early career, so I don’t really know what other options exist because I never envisioned doing anything else. One aspect of my current job that I really like is the program development and evaluation I’ve been doing (albeit, somewhat informally). Ideally, I’d love to stay in VA, both because I’ve put a chunk of time into PSLF and I’d like to finish that out, but also because I do feel really strongly about helping/supporting Veterans. Part of me is a little worried that there aren’t really any jobs that would be what I’m looking for, but I thought I’d ask here and see if anyone has any ideas I haven’t thought of? Thanks all!

Members don't see this ad.