Non-MD faculty interviewer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oatmilkplease

Reaction score
This might be a silly question, but what would be the best way to address non-MD/PhD faculty during an interview? Using their first name? Or Ms/Mr. X?

The reason I ask is because I had an interview a couple months back where the first thing I said was "Hi Dr. ___" and their immediate response was "Oh, I'm not a doctor" (there was a last minute switch up with my faculty interviewer so I didn't know who they were and what their background was beforehand). Was super awkward after that.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
You can never go wrong by starting off with "Dr." in a faculty interview (if you don't know their honorific).
In a non-clinical setting it is expected that PhD's are addressed that way.

Even if they correct your assumption, it's still a good place to start. You will be right 99% of the time. That's better odds than most things in life.

Reactions: 6 users
You can never go wrong by starting off with "Dr." in a faculty interview (if you don't know their honorific).
In a non-clinical setting it is expected that PhD's are addressed that way.

Even if they correct your assumption, it's still a good place to start. You will be right 99% of the time. That's better odds than most things in life.
I agree, the alternative (using Ms. when it should be Dr.) is much worse. Just my thoughts.

Reactions: 3 users
When someone corrects you and says "I am not a doctor", they are setting the record straight, not chastising you. Accept the correction (e.g., "got it, thanks for the clarification") and move on without feeling badly about it.

Last edited:
Reactions: 3 users