Non-trad wanting to go back for PhD in clinical or counseling psych

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nontradpsych123

Reaction score
I'm an early 30s non-trad, with a BA in psych (decent GPA of 3.7+) who went into something outside the field and now wants to go back for a PhD in clinical and counseling psych. I looked at the masters-level professions and they just looked too limited in scope and expensive (unfunded). I had some clinical experience as an undergrad and a bit post-grad but no outside-of-class research experience except for a poster at our undergrad research day. I live in the same city as a large, R1 university.

Questions:
1. Do I need to take post-bacc classes, as my degree is older (10 years)?
2. How do I get research experience at this point? Can I just email faculty at the university as a non-student and politely ask to volunteer in their labs? Is it worth registering for classes just for possible research opportunities?
3. How much clinical experience should I have to apply?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi. I'm an incoming first-year who is early 30s.

Your degree does not expire, so the transcripts will still be valid.

Many labs will take non-matriculated students as research assistants. If you are able, try to get a paid position, since you likely have applicable skills that will be useful to a lab. Hiring seems a tad slow right now, but I'm not sure how much of it is due to hiring season slowing down -- since labs try to hire replacements for the research assistants leaving for graduate school in the spring and early summer -- and how much of it is due to pandemic-related hiring freezes. Positions are posted via individual universities, this Nabble board, and listservs (e.g. CDS listserv tends to have postings in cognitive and developmental psychology).