Non-trad with plans to apply in 2 years. Am I on the right track?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ginger_girl

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am a non-trad career-changer student, mid-20s ORM female from a state in the northeast, with a previous background in pediatric mental health. I am 1 year into a DIY postbacc at my local state university. I was wondering if I could get some input on anything I should focus on in the next couple of years to fill any gaps I might have in my application (plan to apply 2024-2025 cycle).
  • Academics:
    • B.S. in psychology from a well-regarded and competitive state school. I took 4 science/math classes during undergrad, most in my first semester, and didn't do very well (C, C+, B-, B+). Mostly had trouble adjusting to large lectures and holding myself accountable back then. At graduation, my cGPA was 3.65 and sGPA 2.80.
    • I started my post-bacc last year and have maintained an A- average.
    • Altogether, I currently have a 3.69 cGPA and 3.32 sGPA w/ strong upward trends in both. I still have 5 core science classes left to take.
  • Clinical work: 4,000 hours on an inpatient pediatric psych unit as a psychiatric technician (initial experience that made me switch my career goal from social work -> medicine). I started volunteering at a free clinic last semester which I am loving so far and will continue weekly (probably will have a few hundred hours by the time I apply).
  • Research: 500 hours of mood disorders research in undergrad; will be starting a full-time clinical research coordinator job in September at an academic medical center in public health.