Nontrad needs advice, am I on the right track?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Purplie

Reaction score
I graduated undergrad around 7 years ago and have a pre-med background. I was going to apply to medical school back then but kept putting off studying for the MCAT. One of my parents suddenly died at the end of my sophomore year and I developed a chronic pain disorder shortly after that. I ended up taking a gap year after college to teach English abroad through a government program. The past 5 years I’ve just been working and treating my trauma/grief and my medical condition. I’m in a much better place now and have a proper support system so I’ve started studying for the MCAT.

My plan was to focus on the MCAT for now and then after that do a post-back and gain more clinical and volunteering hours and apply next cycle (2023). Does this seem about right? My pre-med advisor told me that if I can score about a 510 then my gpa and hours are fine, but I thought it might be better to make myself more competitive.

My undergrad cgpa is 3.3, sgpa is 3.1. I’m a first gen and an ORM. All of my volunteering hours are from 7+ years ago back in undergrad. I think I have about 100 clinical volunteering hours, 50 non clinical hours, <10 shadowing hours. I did research in undergrad for a year, and for leadership I was president of my schools undergrad premed club.

If it matters, my reasons for wanting to pursue medicine are mostly from personal experience rather than volunteering/shadowing. I want to do primary care because I’ve seen firsthand how important it is. And as someone with a chronic illness I’m incredibly passionate about people advocating for their health and about encouraging people to take care of themselves physically and mentally.

Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.