Non-Traditional Pre-Dental Student seeking some advices.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted810749

Hello all,

I am 27 years old and I recently decided to change my career path from IT to Dental.

I have gave a 2-weeks notice at work so I can re-take some classes, shadow some dentists, do some dental volunteer works until I apply for dental schools.

I have a degree of biological science that I got in 2011. I have few 'C' science classes:
Bio 1 : C
Organic Chem 1 : C-
Organic Chem 2: C
Ecology : C+
Genetics C
Other Bio elective 1: C
Other Bio elective 2: C-

One semi-required class I did not take: Biochemistry.

My Master Plan is (while studying for DAT/shadowing/volunteer works)

2017 Spring semester: re-take Bio 1 and Orgo 1

2017 Summer Semester: Try to apply for programs (such as VCU SAEP or UNC MED programs)

2017 Fall semester: retake Orgo 2 and Biochemistry.

Now my real concern is if I should take biochemistry first or before I apply for dental schools. It has been about 6 years since I took classes so I wanted to start with some easy classes such as bio 1 or organic chemistry 1 that would beneficial for my studying for DAT and get some knowledge before I take biochemistry.

Dental admission cycle starts on June if I'm correct. I would start my fall semester on August. So when I apply for dental schools on July~ I would have to put biochemistry as planned course.

After some research, school tends to accept(to school or to interview) the students who are planning to take those pre-req courses. However, as a non-traditional student, I'm not sure if this is still eligible case for me since most of students are traditional and they apply schools before graduation.

How is my plan? Should I consider other path? What do you recommend?

Thanks in advance.
JT

Members don't see this ad.