Non-Traditional Student Applying to Grad School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsychWoman

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I am a 40 year old undergrad planning to apply to grad school soon. How much of a factor in the admissions deliberation will my age be? In other words, if all things were equal (GRE, GPA, etc.) between myself and a much younger applicant, in all honesty, who has the edge?

Thanks for any thoughts and opinions on this.

Members don't see this ad.

It all depends how you package your experience. I was a few years older than most of the other applicants, but I made my "real world" experience an asset to my application. Some programs skew older, so it is far from rare to be non-trad. and applying.

I'm 44 and starting a PhD program this fall! And I have never had a job in the mental health field! (The acceptance rate at my new school was less than 3% this year.) In applying for schools, I realized that each professor has his or her preference in selecting doctoral candidates and I couldn't do much to change his or her mind. As such, I decided to neither hide nor flaunt my age or any other of my characteristics. (I neither dyed my hair nor got collagen treatments in anticipation of my interviews.) This approach worked well for me. My "predecessor," a graduate student who works for a professor with whom I interviewed, also started in her forties from another field (retail). She is currently the graduate student body president and seems highly regarded at our university.