non-traditional student seeking med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bpvm99

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 29 yr-old veterinary intern interested in becoming an MD. I have a lot of schooling behind me. I have always loved medicine. I have family who are vets and those who are docs. I decided to work on animals a measly five years ago ( internships aren't required as a vet one can simply go out in practice after 4 years. I have almost finished a generalized internship in medicine, surgery, emergency medicine) but found that I wanted to do more in my career as well as an innate feeling of wanting to help the clients of pets who come in with their own medical conditions. I must admit I have a 3.2 in undergrad, a 3.6 in grad school and only a 2.7 in the 2.5 years of vet school. I did however do well in the clinics at vet school (As and Bs). I have letters to prove my clinical abilities. Unfortunately, the last year and a half doesnt figure into the GPA.