Non-traditional students--how do you do it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xelda

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated a few years ago in a non-science field. After working for a while, I've decided I want a career change. I plan on spending the next year or two completing prereqs for dental school at my local university. I'm a little scared though when I think that I'll go from having a steady income to having to live off of student loans. How does everyone else do it? Even when I "live cheaply," I still need a lot to keep up with rent, utilities, car payments, etc. Then on top of that, tuition and school fees. I'm looking at potential 40-50K of debt before I would even start dental school. Am I doing something wrong or should I just take a leap of faith and do it?

Members don't see this ad.

Your not doing anything wrong. If you have your heart set on a career in Dental Medicine, then it can be done. I'm also a non-traditional, and I found that you can't compare yourself to others, just do what it takes to reach your goal.

My story sounds very similar to yours ... I've taken student loans but at the same time have held down 2 sometimes 3 part time jobs while I've been back in school getting my second degree in Biology. Its tough but will be well worth it hopefully starting Fall 09.

Members don't see this ad :)
I quit a 60K job 3 years ago to do this now I'm $46K in the hole (student loans) but there is no choice for me, I have to be a dentist, it not about the money I don't want to do anything else.