Non Traditional study path to the 90th-100th percentile

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BryanBeid

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I am sharing this because I think it is important to let everyone who is studying for this life consuming exam know that there is no one way to be successful on test day. I studied for a total of 50 days, but had those 50 days completely free and dedicated to studying for the MCAT. I completed the june exam with a preliminary percentile in the 90th-100th range. I used the EK books along with the Khan academy videos, and AAMC Q packs. I also bought the TPR book about 6 months before I started studying but never used it, however this gave me access to their 4 full length exams.

Background: I am a 25 year old post-graduate student with a criminology degree who attended law school partially before rerouting to this path. With that said, I have taken all of the science related pre-reqs in the last year and a half, one after another, which I feel may have been an advantage as everything was fairly fresh. I did NOT take biochem before taking this exam, but had an extremely thorough understanding of organic chemistry which I feel helped tremendously. I finished my final semester on May 1st and sat for the June 20th exam, and only studied during that time frame.

Schedule: For the first twenty days I did content review for everything except for physics (my weakest section). My thoughts were that there was not a significant chance for me to improve my understanding in such a small amount of time and therefore reviewing this section would be extremely low yield.