Non-Traditional Working and MCAT Crossroads……experiences, advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JOLA46

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

So, I graduated in 2006 and have since worked in healthcare as an Orthopedic Tech. While working full time, I have gone back to school to finish my pre-reqs. It was hard and required sacrifice, hardwork, etc etc, but it was do-able.

Now, I'm in the midst of studying for the MCAT. I took it back in June of last year and got a 21. I was pretty upset, but planned on regrouping. I got a lot of good info on here as to how to change my approach to get a better score. Well, my little brother died unexpectedly and I never could muster up the energy, to re-group and take the 2014 version again.

My current dilemma is that I feel like working full time (in a stressful job/environment) and studying for the MCAT is just not do-able. I know what hard work, persistence, etc. are , but I'm at the point where I'm making little progress on my practice tests and passages despite doing the best I possibly can. It seems like the people who do best on the MCAT are the ones who devote 2-3 months of studying (8 hours/day) to it. I just read this SN'ed guys approach that is so hyped on here and the first thing he says is "you might want to quit your job to study for this". Quitting my job would be A HUGE HUGE thing and I just want to see if anyone on here has been in a similar situation.

Thanks in advance for reading my post. I hope it's not too lengthy.

Members don't see this ad.

I am sorry to hear about your brother, that really sucks.