Nontrad, age 30, finishing prereqs and unsure about extra-curriculars

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

w4t3rbo1

Reaction score
Hello! I wasn't sure what to do for the title so hopefully that sums it up. I am a nontrad with ~3.0 GPA, looking to apply in the 2023 cycle. I have not completed my MCAT, but I have scored 510 on a couple of practice tests, and I will be studying this year (with the goal of increasing my score!) and take the exam by fall. I have completed 2 prereqs last sem with A's in both (orgchem 1 and anatomy/physiology 1), and will be finishing two more prereqs this sem (orgchem 2 and anatomy/physiology 2). I developed a great relationship with my professors, and I will have the same professors next sem. I volunteer at a crisis hotline (16-20 hours a month), which is something I really love to do, and I work as a tutor (which is also something I love to do). I am a bit lost though - what else should I be doing to prepare myself/stand out?

My goal is to work with underserved inner city communities probably for my entire career, and I was inspired by the doctors at University Hospital in Newark. If it were up to me that is where I would like to go to school, and that is the community I would like to serve.

Hope this isn't too vague, and any help is very much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.