nose coverage as sign on bonus

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AndyDufrane

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi all, so the hospital where I work as an independent contractor on small rehab unit is approaching me about full time hospital employment, but when I ask about if they provide nose coverage as I have close to 20K tail I would have to pay if I closed my own practice malpractice policy and about 9K to pay off an EMG machine, they state that they can structure it into a sign on bonus, which seems kind of weird, so essentially my sign on bonus would be going towards paying off the expenses from me closing my practice, which does seem off , I thought whenever you go from private practice to hospital employed, they provide nose coverage and other costs for closing your practice, am I mistaken?any input would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

hi all, so the hospital where I work as an independent contractor on small rehab unit is approaching me about full time hospital employment, but when I ask about if they provide nose coverage as I have close to 20K tail I would have to pay if I closed my own practice malpractice policy and about 9K to pay off an EMG machine, they state that they can structure it into a sign on bonus, which seems kind of weird, so essentially my sign on bonus would be going towards paying off the expenses from me closing my practice, which does seem off , I thought whenever you go from private practice to hospital employed, they provide nose coverage and other costs for closing your practice, am I mistaken?any input would be appreciated.
There is a ceiling to your value. Many places will let you get that value in various forms but there is still a limit.

Are you annoyed at having to write the “nose” check out of a signing bonus or because you want that money and then an additional bonus