Not Finishing A 2nd Bachelors = A No-No??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SportsJunkie25

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello fellow non-trads!

What are your thoughts on getting a 2nd bachelors but not finishing? Will I still be able to start medical school if I don't finish this program? I've heard, on the board, that med schools will not allow you to start their program if you started a master's program and didn't finish. Same for a 2nd bachelors?

I'm asking this because as an undergrad graduate, I can't get financial aid unless I enroll in a specific program (i.e. no financial aid if I just want to re-take classes or finish my pre-reqs). So, my solution: enroll in a program and get a 2nd bachelors (I got financial aid! :thumbup:) b/c I have to re-take and take undergrad classes anyway (i.e. O-Chem, A&P, Biochem, etc). No need in getting a masters b/c those graduate classes won't cover the pre-reqs I'd need to take.

Thoughts?

Fyi - I need financial aid because I don't have a job that will allow me to afford to pay my bills and tuition for all of the classes I need to take.

Members don't see this ad.

I started a second BS in Biology for my post-bacc (1st BS was in an Engineering discipline). I left the second degree unfinished when I was accepted to medical school. No issues at all for me. YMMV.

I started a second BS in Biology for my post-bacc (1st BS was in an Engineering discipline). I left the second degree unfinished when I was accepted to medical school. No issues at all for me. YMMV.

Oh, ok. Good stuff! Thanks...

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm in the same boat sort of.

Three years after I graduated college I started a second BBA in accounting. I took a couple classes one summer semester and four the fall semester. I elected not to finish it. Terminating that will have been three years ago come Christmas.

1. I wasn't going to be an accountant.