Mar 7, 2014
Hello, everyone. My new professional goal is to become a physical therapist. I am a non-traditional student. After reading through posts on this site, I'm afraid that I may not get into a DPT program.

I am in my older 20's, married and have 2 kids, so I will have to go to schools close by. I plan to get my bachelor's degree next semester, and would like to continue into DPT school immediately after (I've had enough time off as it is.)

Here's my situation briefly. I've attended 3 undergrad schools. I went away for the first college and it was great. However, I had a serious health issue and after a semester there, I had to go back home to make sure my health was okay. My GPA in this school was around a 3.3 overall.
So, I enrolled in a college at home; I wasn't going to let this health issue stop me from getting an education. I went to this college for 3 semesters and ended up with a 3.6 GPA. When my health was better, I wanted to go back to the first college I attended. My husband and I enjoyed the way-of-life in that area and it was so much more peaceful over there. I also loved that college. However, since I registered at the second college, I had to be re-admitted as a transfer student, so I didn't get my scholarship money back.
So, I went to a different college close by so that we could stay in the area. Now, in this third college, my husband and I decided to have our first child (it was a personal decision based on everything we'd been through.) I got pregnant, but had an extremely sick pregnancy. I was hospitalized for weeks at a time, and my grades showed this. My GPA in this college after taking 7 courses was a 2.5 overall. I had to stop going to this college after 2 semesters because the economy dropped that year, and I couldn't take out a loan to help pay the tuition.