Not sure where I went wrong (would appreciate feedback please!)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jakecertain

Reaction score
pls dont quote!

Hey guys! I applied this past cycle to the following schools and haven’t received a single interview this cycle yet. I was wondering if there were any flags in my application that you guys might be able to help me find. I was thinking about re-taking the MCAT but not sure what score to aim for. I submitted my application on June 6th with all secondaries done 2 weeks after receiving them. Thank you so much.

cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS- 3.97, 3.96
MCAT score(s) and breakdown- 513 (131/123/129/130)
Ethnicity and/or race- Indian
Undergraduate institution or category- UC Berkeley

Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer) Please be detailed and include hours *
  1. Medical Intern (260 hrs):
  2. Medical Assistant (1000 hrs) I worked as an ophthalmic technician engaging in practice-based learning to gain valuable technical skills and exposure, as well as furthering my candidacy for medical school.
  3. Caseworker at Clinic (70 hrs)
  4. Student Assistant (120 hrs): I joined a COVID-19 testing site led by where I screened over 300 patients daily via a vocal questionnaire and collected saliva samples to determine its effectiveness in detecting the virus.
  5. Volunteer (40 hrs): I aided nurses in assessing patient health by performing lab runs of urine and stool samples, blood tests, and saliva swabs.
Research experience and productivity - Please be detailed and include hours
  1. Clinical (150 hrs)
  2. Lab (84 hrs):
  3. Research Assistant (650 hrs): I worked alongside the Museum of Vertebrate Zoology Director in research focusing on the integrative biology of house mice. I later co-authored a publication that is currently being prepared for submission.
Shadowing experience and specialties represented, include hours.