Now what?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmProfit

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’ve been a pharmacist for a little over a year now working as a pharmacy manager at an independent, I really enjoy my job but always looking to move ahead in my career

Now I question how can I get further from here in my career? Are there any positions that would be considered a step up or is being a pharmacy Manager really the highest position I can get/end game? (Other than a district manager job which some chains are getting rid of the position for pharmacists). It just seems way too early in my career to not try and keep advancing

Any input would be appreciated, thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Make as much money as you can

Reactions: 1 users
that's your trade-off. you start relatively high but you flat line. you played it safe, so you get the camry and the honda accords. people that took on more risk get a chance at the lambo, the r8, and the ferraris.

I have friends in comp sci and infosec industry that started low (65k) and are now making 150-200k before bonus/stock options. Took some of them 5 years, but most have really already doubled my salary (full compensation taken into account). They took more risk, definitely, and it paid off. You took less risk and took the safe way...so don't complain.

Members don't see this ad :)
You could try to find a management job in a larger health-system if you're looking for a bigger challenge in terms of pharmacy management specifically, e.g. try to work your way towards a pharmacy director position at a large medical center. You could also try starting your own independent pharmacy.

Or just accept that you have reached your peak and settle into the mundane routine of adulthood. It's a challenge in its own way.

Reactions: 1 user