NP vs PharmD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HedgehogCute

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a third-year undergraduate student majoring in biology and I am maintaining pretty good GPA almost As

I am recently having a huge major crisis because of the saturation of the pharmacy field.

I have interviewed a few current pharmacists and did some research on the internet and a lot of them discouraged me to pursue pharmacy.

One of my back-up plans was Nursing practicing. However, I also hear that this field is also being rapidly saturated too.

I also understand that I need to work as a BSN in order to become an NP for maybe 2-5 years.

I don't hate working as an RN that much but I cannot imagine myself doing it for more than 7 years so I don't want to end up going back to RN because I cannot find a job as an NP.

Also, I am male so I think there could be some disadvantages of being a male nurse or NP.

is the NP job market that saturated? or will be saturated as pharmacy in the near future?

This is so hard decision to make at this point when there is so many uncertainties with the COVID-19.

I also heard that DNP programs mainly focus on research or composition rather than practical knowledge. Is that true?

Also, other career suggestions will be appreciated but please don't just say do M.D without a solid reason.

I personally think NP is a better route than PA for me because NPs are more autonomous and it doesn't require a crazy amount of underpaid work hours.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

There are pros and cons to being a male nurse, but overall it's not a huge issue. There might be some gender bias, however. At the NP level, gender doesn't make a difference unless you want to work as a midwife or in women's health.