Mar 5, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
So, I'm a 26 year-old former history student with GPAs of 3.4 overall and 3.7 in my major. I wasn't too concerned about maintaining a ridiculously high GPA at the time, since I thought I'd never need it again. That said, those grades are from the University of Chicago, so they're considered pretty good, and I got honors.

I've bounced around a bit since I graduated, did two years in PR, tried an MA program for medieval history (did well, hated it) and left after a semester to move to Europe (husband's job). I worked in PR there, and now I'm back, unemployed and have decided to finally get my ass in gear and apply for postbaccs before something else gets in my way. I started thinking about med school about 2 years ago, but then with the move...anyway. Point being, I volunteered as a vet tech for a while before the MA and loved it, but that's not exactly the same as volunteering in a hospital or for a doctor's office, or what have you. Seeing all of the people with great GPAs and lots of experience as volunteer EMTs and so forth on these boards who are stressing about not getting into a postbacc program is beginning to get to me.

I've applied to CUNY-Hunter, Columbia, and Northeastern, and I'm just waiting for recs from an old prof and a former boss so I can apply to Tufts and BU. Do you think I have a shot at any program other than Columbia? I'd rather not pay through the nose for the premed stuff. I'm also worried that my spotty track record might make getting into med school difficult. I've heard good and bad things about each of the programs, so I have no idea which one I'd be most likely to choose. Thoughts? Reassurance? Words of warning? :confused:

jslo85

Resident
7+ Year Member
Jan 27, 2010
Chicago
Status
Resident [Any Field]