NYU or Temple

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dentite99

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I was very fortunate to receive acceptances from both NYU and Temple. I am a PA resident and really liked both schools (although a def. edge to NYU's facilities). I am sure others are in my position and It's not an easy one. Being a PA resident, NYU would prob be ~100k more, so does the tech and facilities make it worth it? money is always a factor.
Apparently Temple is upgrading the clinics and lecture halls. Is there a great difference btw. them academically?clinically?
What do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think another thing to consider aside from technology is class size/amount of chairs available to the students/student to faculty ratio (ability to get individual attention and help?) In these aspects, Temple, IMO, shines over nyu. I got into both too and they're both amazing schools in their own unique ways. I can't get past NYU's tuition/cost of living and the amount of students. If NYU kept the class size to like 150 or something, it would have been my top choice.

In my opinion, this isn't something I wouldn't even hesistate about. Temple, all the way. Not only is it a great clinical school, its MUCH cheaper. Yeah the area around campus is crappy, but you can choose to live in the nicer parts of the city or other popular places amongst students/young professionals. I think when you factor in cost of living, the difference is well over 100K if you are in state (I think its roughly 50K/year vs 85K @NYU ) . And that is A LOT of money once you account for interest in the long haul.

For a savings of 35K/year*4 years=140K. With 7% interest @20 years, thats another ~200K interest paid totalling ~340K! Thats a nice rainy day fund right there.

Members don't see this ad :)
Those numbers are highly exaggerated DrDDSman..