Odd resume--bad chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The Dalek

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. The people in this SDN community are usually mature and extremely helpful. I was hoping some of you could offer advice on my chances of successful admission to a medical school in Texas in the near future, offer insight on what steps I can take to improve them considering my circumstances and limitations.

Undergrad:
EE Major. Nanoscience Minor
Practice MCATs: Averaging 33-34
Cum GPA: 3.4
TMDSAS sGPA: 3.3
AMCAS sGPA: 2.9
*The AMCAS sGPA reflects my BCPM, and includes differential equations as that was designated MATH for me as well. I took these courses at the start of college. The last two years have been mostly A's, but mostly because of my major's classes. My Biology credit is solely from AP credits and is not factored into these GPAs.

I do not have time to take post-bac programs or SMP because I work as an engineer fulltime 40-50 hours per week now. Retaking courses would not seem to bump my GPA up more than 0.1 points, nor do I have too much time to actually retake a large volume of courses due to my job.

ECs by application:
75 hrs shadowing.
350 hrs of volunteering; most of it at an ophthalmologist's practice as an intern/scribe.
1400 hrs in research between two labs. 100 more via senior design work if that counts?
4480 hrs as electrical engineer in non medical related work via internships and a fulltime position. I did this every summer of college and after as fulltime.

I used to head a biomedical engineering club during undergrad, and participate in some health clubs during undergrad, but these weren't earth shaking endeavors.