OHSU Oregon resident admissions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bear rock

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an Oregon resident and I've been reading over the OHSU admissions site at this link. Here's an excerpt from the section describing a typical admissions cycle:
  • Total applications received: 6,700+
  • Of the 6,700 applications received, approx. 7% are Oregonians, 93% are non-residents
  • Applicants Interviewed: 570
  • Number of acceptance offers made: 230+
  • Class size: 153
  • Profile of Entering Class:
    • 84% residents of Oregon
If I'm reading this right, ~469 Oregonians applied and (230*0.84)/469 = 193 Oregonians were accepted. In other words, the acceptance rate for Oregonians is 40%! This seems to fit with their policy on mission based groups, but I wanted to confirm that I'm reading this correctly. Do they really favor applicants from Oregon this heavily?

Members don't see this ad.

Based on MSAR 316/476 Oregonians were interviewed and only 255/6700+ out of state were interviewed. Im not from there or anything but it definitely seems like they are favored very heavily, OOS is only ~4% interview rate

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank god that I'm from Oregon!

Reactions: 1 user
It's a very strong preference yeah.

And I can tell you the overall stats ranges in the MSAR are inflated by the out of state admits. They openly state on their website they are looking for high-stats people in the OOS pool:

Non-resident applicants with superior achievements in academics and other related experiences. For the 2017 cycle, superior academics is defined as a cumulative Total GPA, as reported by AMCAS, of 3.70 or higher, and a cumulative score of 32 or higher (for the old MCAT) or 513 or higher (for the new MCAT) on the most recent eligible MCAT.