Older and very medical

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rosie

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi
I have just undergone the stressfull experience of applying to London Medical Schools.
I have been turned down by all of them bar 1 because they feel I am too old (38)
The other has turned me down because I could not score highly enough in the GAMSAT test to be interviewed. I have extensive medical knowledge(Being older)but my knowledge of basic science is limited unless it is relevant to the biological principles that I know.
I have passed a 3rd year medcial students physical assessment and history taking module and come top. I have degree level Medical Pharmacology Physiology and Biochemistry Modules. I work independantly in General Practice caring for undifferentiated undiagnosed patients.
Does anybody know anywhere that will take a more open view of what I already know and what I can already do as entry to a medical training programme.
I need further training but all the doctors I work with feel I would not need many years of training to be at a very competent level.
I already have offers of my two house jobs and a guaranteed place on a GP training scheme and a GP partnership at the end of it.
HELP!!

Members don't see this ad.

My dear Rosie,

Correct me if I am wrong. GAMSAT?? I thought that's an Aussie test for the new PBL course, or so I have read on BMJ couple years ago.