One subject at a time vs alternating subjects?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eye see you

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I have been doing content review for about 3 weeks now and I've been studying another subject every day I study in the following order:

Bio > Orgo > Biochem > Physics > Gen chem

Do you think it's better to alternate like how I'm doing right now or is it better to go through one full subject at a time? I'm kind of leaning towards switching to one subject at a time but I'm afraid that I'll forget content from the first subject once I finish studying the last subject. Also, if I tackle one subject at a time, is it better to start with my weakest subject first ( physics x100000 :/ ) or to save it for last (so it's fresh for test day).

Members don't see this ad.

I studied one subject at a time starting with my weakest subject. This allowed me to really hammer in weaker stuff and even though I felt rushed at the end it was my best subjects last so it was fine.

Use Anki to retain stuff long term. I studied for 9 months part time and didn’t have any trouble remembering the stuff I studied at the beginning. Just make sure you create solid flash cards that test mcat strategy and not just simple term/definition type cards.

Otterxavier has a fantastic post about making great anki cards

Reactions: 5 users
Hello. I have been doing content review for about 3 weeks now and I've been studying another subject every day I study in the following order:

Bio > Orgo > Biochem > Physics > Gen chem