Opinions on Relocation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

THRILLHO

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

I have applied to medical schools in the previous cycle but I am not having much luck (I'm still wait listed at one school but have been rejected from everywhere else). I am planning on applying again next year and I want to maximize my chances of getting into medical school. One of the many ways I'm looking to increase my chances is to move to a state and establish in-state residency a year before I apply. Specifically, I'm looking for places where I am in driving distance (less than six hour drive) of either New York City (where my girlfriend resides) or western Wisconsin (where my family resides). I can afford to visit one via plane every two months or so, but I can't afford to visit both by those means.

If you were me, where would you want to establish residency? I'm currently a Minnesota resident, but with only one state school that I'd like to go to that has in-state preference I don't think that I would be doing myself a favor by staying here.

I was thinking that NY, IL, or PA would be the best states given that they have several schools where in-staters frequently matriculate (even though several of the schools are private). I think Ohio and Indiana are too far away to drive either way, so I'm not really considering those.

My MCAT score was 510 last time (with much room for improvement on my part) and I graduated with a 3.9 GPA. I've been out of school for a few years.

Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

North/South Dakota.

Reactions: 1 user
Good suggestion! Although I would definitely prefer some place where I could continue to do research and that would be easily accessible to my girlfriend via flights from New York if there are any other suggestions.

Members don't see this ad :)