Order of Classes?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RHeff

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to start taking pre-med classes in the fall. I graduated from college in '06 and didn't take any science classes. If I take one or two classes a semester (still working full-time), which ones should I start with? Any help on what order to take things would be great. Thanks...

Members don't see this ad.

I recommend warming up with some math, not necessarily calculus, but a class that prepares you for the problem solving you'll see in physics & gen chem. Even if you took math before, do some more as a warmup. If you can get an A in this math class, then full steam ahead. If you can't get an A, then don't take more classes until you figure out how to get A's.

Gen chem, bio & physics can be taken whenever you want. Organic chem is generally not taken until after gen chem.

Best of luck to you.

I recommend warming up with some math, not necessarily calculus, but a class that prepares you for the problem solving you'll see in physics & gen chem. Even if you took math before, do some more as a warmup. If you can get an A in this math class, then full steam ahead. If you can't get an A, then don't take more classes until you figure out how to get A's.

Gen chem, bio & physics can be taken whenever you want. Organic chem is generally not taken until after gen chem.

Best of luck to you.

Thanks. I was thinking about taking bio and an alg/trig course at the same time. Would that make sense?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks. I was thinking about taking bio and an alg/trig course at the same time. Would that make sense?

Do you really need these math classes?

I assume that if you got a real shiny college degree they made you at least take calculus. If so, I think you are good as far as math goes.