Orgo 2

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

girija618

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated from college 2 years ago and now I'm applying to med school. I did take 2 semesters of general chemistry (inorganic) and then only 1 semester of organic chemistry.

But now I'm wondering how strict the requirement of 2 organic semesters really is?

I should mention I will be taking biochemistry in the summer, would that count towards the orgo requirement at all?

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

The schools that allow you to substitute Biochemistry for O-Chem II tend to say so on their website. For the most part, most schools require O-Chem II and recommend (sometimes strongly) that people take biochemistry. The good news is that pre-requisites do not have to be complete at the time of application. Some schools say that it is prudent to have almost all of the pre-requisites done.

Yes, quite a few schools will take biochemistry as either fulfilling a biology or chemistry requirement, check with the schools you are interested in applying at, because it varies. If not, you can always take it pre-matriculation.

Members don't see this ad :)
If possible, switch out Biochem for Orgo 2 this summer. I think it helps alleviates stress knowing that your pre-requisites are completely done going into your application cycle. Biochem is currently only a requirement for two schools that I can think of--SUNY Upstate and NYMC. If you're bent on taking Biochem, you could always take it after you've already been accepted or you could do what I'm doing, which is self-studying it without taking a formal class.

So I graduated from college 2 years ago and now I'm applying to med school. I did take 2 semesters of general chemistry (inorganic) and then only 1 semester of organic chemistry.

But now I'm wondering how strict the requirement of 2 organic semesters really is?