Ortho chance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

humbletooth

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I am a practicing general dentist (for 2 yrs), wishing to apply for otho.

My stats are less than stellar.. in fact, they are pretty pathetic
1. bottom 3rd in class rank (below 3.0)
2. NBDE part 84/81

I have a decent DAT score (24), but since I was accepted to dental school, I never really put an effort in studying, thinking I would never be interested in specializing.. so I just "got by" dental school.

I know that everyone that posts here for ortho(or any specialty) has spectacular stats so let me ask as a representative of all who has a change of mind about specializing after their graduation.

1. DO I HAVE EVEN THE SMALLEST CHANCE OF BEING ACCEPTED TO ORTHO?

2. IF NOT THEN, WOULD A KICK-ASS SCORE IN (1) NBME OR (2) GRE HELP ME INCREASE MY TINY CHANCE?

thank you for your honest input:thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

Hey all,

2. NBDE part 84/81

I have a decent DAT score (24), but since I was accepted to dental school, I never really put an effort in studying, thinking I would never be interested in specializing.. so I just "got by" dental school.

I know that everyone that posts here for ortho(or any specialty) has spectacular stats so let me ask as a representative of all who has a change of mind about specializing after their graduation.

2. IF NOT THEN, WOULD A KICK-ASS SCORE IN (1) NBME OR (2) GRE HELP ME INCREASE MY TINY CHANCE?

The NBDE is now pass/fail. As far as the NBME step 1, I believe only oral surgery admission committees look at that, not ortho ad coms.