ORTHO RESIDENCY PLEASE HELP NO RESEARCH

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

queenofortho16

Reaction score
Hi Y'all!

So say I hypothetically go to a school with pass/fail and no rankings (UCSF, Harvard, Uconn, Columbia) and I am a 3rd year dental student. I have no research experience but I hold a Masters in Biomedical Science (before coming to dental school). I have some leadership positions and some community service. I think I should have some pretty good letters of rec. I plan on taking the GRE very soon. Do you think I stand any chance of getting into any ortho residencies? I feel hopeless because I hear you're pretty much done for without research, even my own significant other who's a General Dentist told me I'm screwed. PLEASE HELP.

Additionally, which specific programs are least research heavy/dependent?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
It's better to have some research experience but doesn't mean you won't get in without it.

Members don't see this ad :)
no chance at all if you don't apply so just go for it
personality trumps research experience.
i've met a lot of applicants who have a ton of research accolades yet have zero social skills. automatic rejection in my opinion. research is overrated anyways

Reactions: 1 user
no chance at all if you don't apply so just go for it
personality trumps research experience.
i've met a lot of applicants who have a ton of research accolades yet have zero social skills. automatic rejection in my opinion. research is overrated anyways
thank you! I'd like consider myself a social butterfly and having good people skills!! My only fear is just getting that interview so I can show them.