OT To NP? Advice requested.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CoastalOT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an occupational therapist. I work in pediatrics in a school setting, I like working with kids. I'm growing weary of my job, and I want a change: I have a desire to diagnose and treat patients to positively impact patient wellness. I don't have a family or a partner, and student debt isn't a concern for me.

I have considered going to a direct entry NP program. I am a bright guy with very good grades, and a high aptitude for learning. Should I be happy with my degree, or should I try to be a NP (perhaps an outpatient psychiatric NP), or, even try to get into a DO program?

I don't want to be on my death bed thinking to myself, why didn't I do something I wanted to or could have done and should have done. On the other hand, maybe OT is a great profession. I am positively impacting students lives; I desire to be a diagnostician in a higher level clinical setting. I sometimes think I didn't challenge myself enough. I make a very good salary (no debt, in a union and excellent health care benefits) for my position, I only work 180 days a year, and I have excellent benefits. Should I be happy with my job and just stay put or should I follow a dream and be a NP or doctor to contribute in a different way to fighting disease and contributing to wellness? I sometimes feel like I am confused with a teacher now.

Thank you in advance for your advice. I appreciate it a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

So, I can't really speak on whether if it's worth it or not as I'm not really too experienced in the OT field. All I can do is help list what you have to do for Nursing/NP school and DO medical school. Hopefully, you can make a decision on your own or talk it over with your family, or someone else can provide a better insight.