OUHCOM, PCOM, CCOM, or TUCOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which to attend?

• OUHCOM

Votes: 36 46.2%
  • TUCOM

Votes: 2 2.6%
  • PCOM

Votes: 32 41.0%
  • CCOM

Votes: 8 10.3%

• Total voters

brownwolf100

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Which one should I attend!? I've been lucky enough to have been accepted to all 4. I'm an Ohio resident. My biggest concern is keeping my options open for specializing. I don't see myself wanting to go into primary care. Considering anesthesiology, EM, psych, or derm as a longg shot. Which one would I likely have the best chance of keeping my options open for specializing?

Members don't see this ad.

Which one should I attend!? I've been lucky enough to have been accepted to all 4. I'm an Ohio resident. My biggest concern is keeping my options open for specializing. I don't see myself wanting to go into primary care. Considering anesthesiology, EM, psych, or derm as a longg shot. Which one would I likely have the best chance of keeping my options open for specializing?
Would you be able to weigh in @Goro ? What would you do in my shoes?

Members don't see this ad :)
Go to the cheapest one.
Well I figure Ohio would be the cheapest all around, but I'm most concerned with having the most doors open for specializing. I know the schools are all solid, but I'm worried about closing doors

PCOM has a good affiliation with their own residencies but being from Ohio I would say OUCOM. They will take you anywhere you want as well

If you have those options, I would cross out TUCOM (wasn't impressed with facilities) and CCOM (way more expensive than the rest...unless you're HPSP). In the end, I think you should pick whether you want to be connected in the North East (PCOM) or your home state. can't see you going wrong with either one of those two. Overall though, your success will be based more so on how well you do in school/boards/audition rotations.