Out of state friendly D.O. schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yas710

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Go for all the NY DO schools. There is a surplus of residencies at those institutions so that help OOS applicants. Avoid rural institutions unless you have a connection with the area. Apply to all the ones in major US cities generally. LECOM is OOS friendly more so than other rural institutions. Avoid schools in coal mine communities unless you have some family affiliation. That should help narrow your list down.

Members don't see this ad :)
NSU-COM is about 50/50 instate/OOS.

Touro COM-NY and CCOM are OOS friendly from first-hand experience.

i agree with you.ouro COM-NY and CCOM are OOS friendly from first-hand experience.
6.gif

Touro COM-NY and CCOM are OOS friendly from first-hand experience.

Do you know if UMNDJ and PCOM is OOS friendly? I'm a sophomore planning to apply to the following after graduation: UMNDJ, PCOM, LECOM, NYCOM, Touro-COM-NY, CCOM, PCOM, MSUCOM, AZCOM. Probably some instate MDs: Hofstra, Upstate, Downstate, Albany, Buffalo, Rochester.

Current stats: 3.35 cgpa (will jump probably to 3.5 by graduation, schedule gets really easy for my last 1.5 years), 3.45 sgpa (will probably be 3.5-3.6 by graduation and 3.3-3.4 for AAMC). Decent ECs.

I dont think MSUCOM is OOS friendly. I checked their numbers from the 2011-2012 matriculation, and out of the class size of 321, they had 281 in state students, and 40 OOS students.

Ok good to know. Lately, I've been looking into UMDNJ/PCOM/CCOM/NYCOM based on my current stats, I hope to raise them so I have a good chance in getting into UMDNJ which I am on the low end for