owning pets in vet school??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sask17

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a pre- vet student and I own a 1 year old boxer he is so awesome! I was wondering if any vet students own pets during vet school and how they find time for their companions. Boxers require a lot of exercise and I hope that when I get into vet school I can find time for my guy, but I do not want to be unrealistic. Dog day care can be expensive too, any suggestions??

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

Thanks for the reply :)

I was thinking about getting a second dog this summer as my boy is maturing nicely I think he deserves a friend. I am also looking for a place closer to campus :) Your advice really helped me feel better, I couldn't imagine life without a dog. I also own some livestock an hour from where I live but I have help with that, it is always nice to have support when you are busy.

Members don't see this ad :)
Have 7 dogs, 2 cats, one roommate who may be getting a dog, and 2 half roommates (ie they tend to live here part time) one of whom has cats, the other is my husband (who occasionally takes dogs home with him and often takes the cats home with him.)

So the number of pets in the house fluctuates between 2-~12. I'm an animal trainer (or was prior to vet school) so while it sounds like a big deal, the house operates incredibly smoothly; dogs don't bark when people visit, or when they hear sirens, or a runner goes by on the greenway. Minimal table begging (there is some begging for laps, but none for food.) Dogs know the routines for going outside, feeding, pilling, etc so there aren't squirmishes.